BabesinBookland

2 Blondes, 1 Redhead & a Reviewer

Random Thoughts

3 20 13 004So, today’s blog post is a random collection of trivial things that make up a day in MY life. Author, barista, entrepreneur…
Ready?
3:55 a.m. Alarm goes off. I slide reluctantly out of bed. Rain pounds against the window, and BED is much cozier than racing around getting clothes on.
4:10 a.m. Dressed, hair slicked back in a pony tail, Shove feet into shoes – realize there’s a glob of dried whipped cream on the end of the shoe lace. Gross, but no time to chisel it off. Tie shoe.
4:15 a.m. Rush dogs outside into pouring rain, which they H A T E. Drag dogs, who suddenly have no power to walk on their own, to a semi dry spot and tell them to pee. They look at me like I’m the Anti Christ. Pee.
4:22 a.m. Two minutes late due to reluctant pets. Feed them treats and head out the door, apron, sharpie, hat and – whew – keys. Immediately lose hat in the wind, hat is now wet as I climb in the van and start the car.
4:29 a.m. Get to work just as the manager does – we run inside the frigid store, made all the more cold because we are soaked from the dash from our cars.
6:30 a.m. Finally grabbing a KIND bar and coffee on break. Pastry case takes an hour and a half to set up with the new system – doesn’t matter how fast I try to be. Coffee’s caught up. Glad that it wasn’t me who flooded the back room…
9:00 a.m. Rush home, still freaking pouring, to let the dogs out. I have to catch the bridge across the intercoastal just right, or I’m late. I have five minutes coming and going allowed for error – no more. Pippa’s terrified. She hates storms, but she can’t hold her bladder forever and she growls at me as I force her outside. Scary little Pomeranian teeth. Benny coughs. I know he’s a Chihuahua, but my friend Kathy insists he’s a little Jewish old man inside the Taco Bell outfit. I tell him that I refuse to buy Campbell’s Chicken Noodle, but know that if he’s still coughing later, I just might.
9:30 – Back to work, wiping peanut butter toast from my lips as I run inside. Made the bridge – all is well. CRAZY busy day. Something about dreary weather makes people think they need freaking frappucinos. Yeah, go figure. Temperature drop – let’s have a frozen five thousand calorie drink.
1:00 p.m. Work’s done. I drop my friend off at home so he doesn’t have to ride his bike in the rain, then put gas in the tank and get home in time to let the dogs out between rain showers. Change out of coffee scented work clothes – my closet smells like an espresso scratch and sniff. Kick off shoes, hoping the chunks have fallen off but not willing to take the time away from my new business, SMMNow!
1:45 p.m. Computer up, docs up, scanning email – don’t dare check Facebook. Something about it sucks an hour or two from my day. Okay – I’m nosy and I want to catch up with friends, if the truth be told….lol
4:00 p.m. Dogs want out AGAIN – good heavens, why do I feed these needy creatures?? Come back, allow myself a peek at Facebook.
6:00 p.m. Time warped into the future within the blink of an eye. Realize that it’s time for a glass of wine and the dogs’ dinner. They’ve been whining pathetically by their bowls as if they’ve never eaten before. Phone rings. Mom/Sheryl/Piks/Destini/Brighton/Patrice calls and I take a relieved break. Apple, cheese slice, pasta – something quick and easy to feed the machine then back to work.
8:00 p.m. Eyes are drooping. Computer and just plain old fatigue hit. I try to read, or do a last browse through Facebook to catch up on my own marketing or promo. Answer editor/agent/publicist/fan mail
9:00 p.m. Shower – set out clothes for the next morning to do it all over again.
10:00 p.m. Bed. Toss, turn. Worry about things outside my control.
3:55 a.m. Repeat 🙂

That’s my day – wanna share yours?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

