BabesinBookland

2 Blondes, 1 Redhead & a Reviewer

Books that inspired…

Patrick Dennis wrote Auntie Mame back in the fifties, I think, and I found the book as a teen at a garage sale. Original price for this puppy was 50 cents, and I think I got it for less. I adored it – the copy is now tattered and rubber banded together. What’s great about this? It took me away to another world with tons of laughter. As a teen in the 80’s I had no idea what life might be like in the fifties, but Auntie Mame was vivid in my mind. Whenver I need a pick me up, it’s a toss between that book and an Erma Bombeck. So far as fantasy goes, I inhaled A Wrinkle in Time and C.S. Lewis. I read everything I could get my hands on – from fables to nursery rhymes to my mother’s purloined library books. I remember one time I was twelve and home sick with a cold and I read a book of hers while she was at work. About the plague. By the time she came home I was sure I was dying, lolol

Books have always been a means of escape, another reality – and if the story grabs me I’m game for the ride no matter what the genre. And like Babe Rhonda, I am a HUGE fan of Gone With The Wind . Who do you LOVE?

Today only, PEONY, Book 2 in the Queen’s Guard series

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/the-queens-guard-peony/id643048164?mt=11

http://www.amazon.com/The-Queens-Guard-Series-ebook/dp/B00C0JD0QK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1368626803&sr=8-2&keywords=the+queens+guard

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-queens-guard-traci-e-hall/1115230608?ean=9781605426570

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

