BabesinBookland

2 Blondes, 1 Redhead & a Reviewer

Reviews, who writes these things, anyway??

I loved Rhonda’s post on this – and I couldn’t agree more. I’ve had wonderful reviews, and strange reviews, and downright awful reviews. As with anything, I think I am conditioned to look at the bad stuff and wonder a) what I did wrong, and b) how I can fix it – and c) if can I sue the reviewer for slander – which isn’t really an option

Reading a review where the reader totally gets the book, and loves the character, makes me so happy – totally makes my day!!  If I find a review of my book out there on some of the smaller review sites, I post a comment thanking them for taking the time to review. I’ve even done that for the negative ones. Everybody has a right to their opinion, and in case you haven’t noticed, bad reviews aren’t stopping Fifty Shades of Gray from flying off the shelves, lol

Just this week I’ve gotten four fan letters, and one odd review. Since I have quite a few different books going, theses were all for separate things.  In my coming of age YA novel, a person actually posted that my novel read like an after school special, and that my protagonist couldn’t possibly learn a lesson from how tamely I’d written the story. The reviewers suggestion? That I cut off an arm or a leg.

I know.

lolololol

What are some of the strangest reviews you’ve ever gotten – and as a reader, do you take the time to review a book?

 

Traci

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

