BabesinBookland

2 Blondes, 1 Redhead & a Reviewer

Me and Stephen King….

What book changed your world?   For me, it was Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot.  It scared the heck out of me and it was the first time I realized the power of words.  Mind you, I’d have been grounded for a month for reading King at 13, but I hid what I was reading from my parents.  Once I was in the back of the car under a blanket reading that book and has to close it because I was so frightened. Yet I kept reading the story. I can still visualize the creepy devil guy in my mind.  That was 42 years ago. 42!  OMG I just realized that.

This was not the start of a writing career but becoming and avid reader…like my mother.

So readers… what’s your life changing book?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Me and Stephen King….

  1. Latoya on said:

    Hi Amy! So much has happened since the last time we talked. How are you? How is the writing going? I was just talking about you to some of the girls at Writeminded. I think about you a lot, and I hope things are going well for you, Traci, and Rhonda.

  2. Latoya! How are you?

    • Latoya on said:

      I’m okay. Still finding my way, but I’m not the hot mess I was. I’ve learned that grief is a process and eventually we all learn to live with it. I have my moments, but they always pass. My boys are adjusting. My 7 year old was just diagnosed with ADHD and my 9 year old is being evaluated for Autism. I’m still married, but my husband says he still wants a divorce, so I’ve been taking steps to become more self-sufficient. I’m in school and I’ve been saving. I’m still going to grief counseling, and I’m learning more about myself. I have a long way to go, but I no longer want to crawl under a rock. Thank you so much for asking. I think about you often. I hope you and your family are doing well.

Leave a Reply

